Tuesday, January 7, 2014

Oscar Race 2014: Your Guild Nomination Cheat Sheet

By: David Allen (@eastwoodmcfly)

Earlier today the Directors Guild of America announced their nominees for this year's DGA award. However, the DGA is just one of many guilds with nominations currently out there. What are the other guilds and what films do they have nominated? Here is a cheat sheet with the main guilds (DGA, PGA, SAG, and WGA) with what films they have nominated this year.

DGA (Directors Guild of America) - Winners Announced on January 25th
Award for Outstanding Directional Achievement in Feature Film for 2013

David O. Russell; American Hustle
Paul Greengrass; Captain Phillips
Alfonso Cuarón; Gravity
Steve McQueen; 12 Years a Slave
Martin Scorsese; The Wolf of Wall Street

*Fun Fact: This is the eleventh nomination for Scorsese and the first for Cuarón, Greengrass, and McQueen.

PGA (Producers Guild of America) – Winners Announced January 19th
Daryl F. Zanuck Producer of the Year Award 2013

Megan Ellison, Jon Gordon, Charles Roven & Richard Suckle; American Hustle
Letty Aronson & Stephen Tenenbaum; Blue Jasmine
Dana Brunetti, Michael De Luca & Scott Rudin; Captain Phillips
Robbie Brenner & Rachel Winter; Dallas Buyers Club
Alfonso Cuarón & David Heyman; Gravity
Megan Ellison, Spike Jonze & Vincent Landay; Her

Albert Berger & Ron Yerxa; Nebraska
Ian Collie, Alison Owen & Philip Steuer; Saving Mr. Banks
Anthony Katagas, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen, Brad Pitt & Dede Gardner; 12 Years a Slave
Riza Aziz, Emma Koskoff & Joey McFarland; The Wolf of Wall Street

*Fun Fact: The last six winners of this award have won the best picture Oscar.

SAG (Screen Actors Guild) – Winners Announced January 18th
Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture 2013

American Hustle
August: Osage County
Dallas Buyers Club
Lee Daniels’ The Butler 
12 Years a Slave

*For a full list of individual achievement nominations: http://www.sagawards.org/awards/nominees-and-recipients/20th-annual-screen-actors-guild-awards

WGA (Writers Guild of America) - Winners Announced on February 1st
Writers Guild America Award for Best Original Screenplay 2013

Eric Warrn Singer & David O. Russell; American Hustle
Woody Allen; Blue Jasmine
Craig Borten & Melisa Wallack; Dallas Buyers Club
Spike Jonze; Her
Bob Nelson; Nebraska

Writers Guild America Award Award for Best Adapted Screenplay 2013

Tracy Letts; August: Osage County
Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy & Ethan Hawke; Before Midnight
Billy Ray; Captain Phillips
Peter Berg; Lone Survivor
Terence Winter; The Wolf of Wall Street

*Fun Fact: "Nebraska" was the first feature script written by Bob Nelson.

Guild Nomination Summary:
Film with all four guild nominations: American Hustle
Films with three guild nominations: Captain Phillips, Dallas Buyers Club, 12 Years a Slave & The Wolf of Wall Street
Films with two guild nominations: August: Osage County, Blue Jasmine, Gravity, Her & Nebraska
Films with one guild nomination: Before Midnight, Lee Daniels’ The Butler, Lone Survivor & Saving Mr. Banks

If all of this was not enough be sure to hear our thoughts on the nominees for this weekend's Golden Globe Awards.

No comments:

Post a Comment